1953

Meoncross School was established by Mr Watson, a former Head of Portsmouth Grammar Lower School. Originally of some 40 boys, the school was housed in temporary premises in Titchfield, and functioned as a day Preparatory School for boys aged from 5 to 13 years.

1964

Under the Headship of Mr Meredith, in the school moved to a permanent site in Catisfield with numbers rising to 170 boys. It gained a reputation for preparing the boys well for the Common Entrance into public schools and local day schools including PGS, Christ’s Hospital and Churcher’s College amongst other academic institutions.

1969

In response to parents who could find no comparable school for their daughters, Mr Meredith and Mr Timberlake purchased Burnt House and opened the doors to girls. The first Headmistress was Mrs Kenner, and from the earliest days the friendly approach to children and parents and the pleasant informal atmosphere echoed the Catisfield attitude and Meoncross still retains this unique flavour.

1973

In response to the changing face of education Meoncross became a senior school, thereby offering education up to GCSE. Ten years later and the whole school relocated to Burnt House and an extensive building programme began to provide modern classrooms, a technical block, language and science laboratories.

1991

Meoncross opened a Nursery.

2004

Meoncross was acquired by Cognita Schools.

2013

The school celebrated its Diamond Jubilee.

2015

Meoncross opened a Sixth Form.

2016

The school continues to add to its facilities with the introduction of a 2.5 hectare sports field.

Meoncross today provides a cohesive academic structure with a Nursery, a Lower School, an Upper School and a Sixth Form and nearly 400 pupils on a single site.